Home Upcoming Safaris Guest Testimonials Mini-documentary Photography books From the Field Purchase Prints Greg du Toit Guest Speaking The Concept Safaris General Africa Photo Workshop Online Gallery Blog Published Contact

Guest Testimonials

African Photographic Safaris & African Photography Workshops...
Wildlife safaris and especially African wildlife safaris have always been popular. With the advent of digital photography, African photographic safaris or African photography workshops are now even more popular and these are exactly my area of specialty...

Both my unique experience as an ex-safari guide and my photographic expertise as a professional wildlife photographer, allow me to combine the concept of a traditional safari with an Africa photographic workshop, seamlessly. When on safari with me as your host and guide, we will conduct traditional safari drives and you will enjoy all the excitement, information and experiences of a traditional safari (non photographing partners and friends are therefore welcome). You will however also receive expert photographic guidance and tuition! I travel with an entire Africa Photography Workshop on my mac-book and I will teach and guide you on any and every aspect of wildlife photography. You are able to ask me any photographic questions that you have and I can also give you feedback on your own images! See a list of my upcoming Africa Photo Safaris and I look forward to being your safari and photographic host!

Here follow testimonials from recent guests that joined me on safaris....

Guest Testimonials:

'Yes it was a wonderful trip. All accommodations were good and all transfers happened on time and without problems. As well as being an outstanding photographer, Greg du Toit is also good company, lots of fun and a great guide for bird spotting and animal behaviour. All in all, an excellent trip and I would have no hesitation to travel with Greg again and to use the services of Oryx to help with arrangements. Warm regards, Graham.'
Graham Adkins (Australia), Masai Mara predator safari and pvt Kenya 'elephant and rhino' extension, Jan 2017

'I think we’d forgotten just what a great guide Greg is. His wildlife and photographic expertise are without question, but it’s the fact that he devotes his time and efforts to us as clients, and give as much information and help as you want. He is also so good at directing the drivers to the ideal photographic spot for each sighting. His seminars during the day, may theoretically be stuff we should know, but there is always something to learn, and he explains and talks very well.'
Michael and Lisa Parker (England and France),South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, Nov 2016

'Hello Greg, I'm back home in California after a most pleasant series of flights. The 4 images that I attempted to process (rather poorly at that!) and sent to several friends including some pro's were received with rave reviews! The night sky image and the image of the tribal women received the most comments. So, where do I try to start to thank you for the most amazing photo expedition of my life? Simply by saying I cannot wait to go into the wilderness again and shoot with you! Indeed northern Kenya is now on my list. What did I learn in shooting with you? Patience in seeking the right shot and not just "spray and pray" clicking of the shutter button. Yes I knew this from previous shoots but watching you and talking to you during our journey reinforced this mantra even further. Talking about photography with you was worth the price of the safari even if I didn't shoot one frame. Thanks for being SO patient with my ramblings about photography. I'm a much improved shooter having gone on safari with you! Oh my gosh did I ever improve my skills set! My hope is you somehow had as much fun as I did on the safari. Safe travels and excellent shooting to you!
All the best, Jeffrey Littell.'
Jeffrey Littell (USA), Best of Namibia Safari, Sep 2016

'Greg, thanks so much for the outstanding private safari in the Okavango Delta, Botswana that you led for us in August, 2016. The itinerary that you and C4 Photo Safaris developed gave us a terrific mix of magical Delta experiences, with fine camps and excellent local guides. The most important ingredient in this terrific experience, however, was you.  On the photographic front, we were inspired by your commitment to artistic creativity and excellence, as well as ethical practices, in the capturing of wildlife images and greatly appreciated your graciously shared world class photographic expertise. We were delighted to find that you are also a knowledgeable naturalist, with wide-ranging expertise and engaging stories (and a voluminous reference library on your phone!) about both the fauna and the flora of Africa. We were encouraged by your commitment to conservation and especially to the Rebuilding the Pride project run by Masai landowner group SORALO in the South Rift Valley of Kenya.  We look forward eagerly to joining you in the Masai Mara next year and in the South Rift Valley in 2018!'
Mark and Bonnie Overgaard (USA), Private Okavango Delta Safari, Aug 2016
See a gallery of Mark’s images from the trip is here

'Hey Greg, It took three days to download and organize my 5412 files! You blew me away with your kindness, graciousness, and expertise. Okay, so now I am bit and I can't wait to go back. The wild is the only thing that makes sense and I understand what motivates you. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for introducing me to your world and for sharing your experience, strength, and hope for the future of conservation.'
Let's keep in touch. Best wishes, Nell.'
Nell Dickerson (USA), Private Botswana and South Africa Safari, Sep 2016

'Dear Greg, We wanted to thank you once again for guiding us in Kenya and sharing that special part of Africa with us. We loved our time at Shompole, I think our favourite pictures will be of the local people. Being in the midst of the migration was also very special. Hope to meet up again before too long. Kind regards, Maggie and Peter.'
Maggie Manson and Peter Farmer (UK), Kenya Rift Valley and Great Migration Safari, July 2016
See a portfolio of 'Life in Kenya's Southern Rift Valley' by Peter here Maggie here

'Thanks so much for the amazing trip to Shompole and the Masai Mara. Shompole’s remote other worldly terrain and down-to-earth approach, was safari simplicity at its best. The land, seemingly stark and desolate, yet filled with life was an oasis that presented many a unique opportunity to photograph extraordinary images of the south rift valley. A rare privilege to see a little of the pastoral life of the Masai people and how they allow a co-existence with free ranging wildlife. It is a special model in conservation of ancient African traditions that needs preserving. The Masai Mara was a great contrast to Shompole, a world of plenty complete with the migration of the wildebeest, an extraordinary teeming and moving wildlife spectacle, that simply must be seen to be believed. The photographic opportunities just too many to capture. Add the big five in 24 hours, with the accompanying wonderful birdlife and beautiful landscapes, all filled with light and sounds. We appreciate you sharing these very special places and your knowledge with us, particularly your photography advise as it has allowed us to start to capture the wildlife in a way that begins to do their wild beauty, life and land some justice.
Regards, Gavin and Jayne Erasmus. '
Gavin and Jayne Erasmus (Hong Kong), Kenya Rift Valley and Great Migration Safari, July 2016

'This safari; my first; was simply put, both amazing and breathtaking and overwhelming! I was going for only one word so going to stop before I use all the emphatic English words I know ;-) Doing such a voyage with Greg insured that I got the most of the journey, more than once he rescued me from a camera that did not want to cooperate, or was it my clumsiness in an exciting moment ;-) But, more importantly, I believe I have a better grasp of the photographic process as a whole, a better understanding of what is entailed in taking a photograph. Coming home, I feel a renewed excitement for the still's medium!'
Nancy and Pierre Nadeau (Canada), Kenya Rift Valley and Great Migration Safari, July 2016

'We recently went with Greg to South Africa (Mala Mala) and Botswana (Mashatu) for a Predator workshop and loved every minute.  We have traveled to many places around the world including Africa (in fact this was our fourth trip) but this safari with Greg was by far our most sensational holiday; ten out of ten on all levels.  Greg is great company and we had many laughs and memories to take away and cherish.  Our love of Africa, the wilderness and the animals has gone up many notches. Greg spent time between game drives providing guidance on a wide range of photographic techniques, as well as hands-on assistance while out on the game drives. His patience and knowledge enabled us to return home with photographs which we would not have thought possible in our wildest dreams.  Our sightings: cheetahs on a hill silhouetted by a magnificent sunrise, eleven leopard sightings including some with kills, the amazing hide at Mashatu waterhole with so many elephants coming into drink, a week-old rhino with it’s mother, sable, buffalo and, of course, lions were all that we came to Africa to see and photograph.  Finding a leopard with her cubs playing outside the thicket on our last morning was about the best sighting one could get.  As a result of this whole experience we have booked a further trip with Greg in 2018.  Thank you so much Greg.'
Georgie and Dave Smith (Australia), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, May 2016

'I have done numerous safaris in Africa, in fact this was my twentieth over a period of about 15 years. And it was absolutely one of the very best. The quality of the sightings and the photographic opportunities they gave us was superb. Greg was the perfect guide, host and tutor, having time for everyone, his tutorials in the middle of the day were very well presented. In particular his special use of flash in certain situations was a revelation to me. All in all a fantastic experience, and for wildlife photographers a “must-do” safari.'
Richard Barrett (England),South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, June 2016
See a gallery of photos that Richard took on his safari here...

'Hi Greg, I would like to express my thanks for a wonderful trip and learning experience. I saw some things I have not seen before … and at least I heard the call of a klipspringer even if I did not actually get to see one!! I have taken your tips and lessons on board and hope to practice them when I return to Botswana. Both camps we stayed at were great and the guides that you use are excellent. I would go back in a heartbeat and do it all over again (and fully intend to on one of your Masai Mara Signature Predator Safaris in 2017). Warm regards, Graham.'
Graham Adkins (Australia), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, Nov 2015

'Dear Greg, the training and experience with you has been even better than we expected. You bring out the best of Africa as you teach us each day to appreciate the animals and capture the best moments with pictures. You are patient and professional and we look forward to another journey with you.
Best to you, Bob 'the camera caddy' and Jacquie.'
Bob and Jacquie Paul (USA), Zimbabwe Private Safari, August 2015

'Hi Greg, your beautiful photo book arrived yesterday & now all my friends want to see it.
I want to express how much I enjoyed the safari with you. As a guide, wildlife photographer & teacher you are the best in my opinion. I came home with so many excellent photos, - all thanks to your dedication & passion for your country & the incredible animals. Also many thanks to Claire for sharing you with us. I'm seriously looking at doing another safari with you, but I do need to wait til I return from England in September. After that I can see what you have available at a time of year that suits.'
Joy Thomas, (Australia), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop with Meerkat extension, July 2015.

'Hi Greg, I hope you made it home safely and your dog did not bark at you. On the way from the airstrip I saw and photographed Aarkvard number 7 and on the way to the airstrip, number 8! I just wanted to say you thank you again for a wonderful trip. I appreciate your guiding very much. Your knowledge of the bush and the behavior of the animals but also your photographic expertise are outstanding. Being in the wilderness of Africa with you is much more than just photography - it is like travelling with a friend. Thank you for sharing your passion for Africa with me! I am looking forward to our future plans.
Take care, Rudolf'
Rudolf Hug, (Switzerland), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop with Meerkat extension, July 2015.

'Hi Greg, We just wanted to say a huge thank you to you for a fantastic Predator Workshop last week. We set off on our journey with massive expectations about the wildlife we might see and what we could learn from you to improve our photography. We returned home with those expectations massively exceeded!! Firstly, your engaging and supportive personal style were key to our enjoyment. The fact that we were two of the three guests meant that we had your advice and guidance on all game drives to ensure that we had the best opportunity to take decent images in challenging low light and dark conditions. We went from having never taken night time images of wildlife using flash to capturing some  images  we are thrilled with by the end of the trip!! Your workshop sessions were logically sequenced and provided us with the opportunity to put the theory into practice on the next and subsequent game drives. The wildlife sightings were unbelievable - critically endangered African Wild Dogs with young pups,  elephants photographed from the hide you took your WPOTY image from, a lioness and cubs, a cheetah and cubs eating a recent kill, leopards in trees,  hyenas and pups, an elephant shrew and baboons in a great setting to name just some!!! The 'sleeping under the stars' night at Mashatu with Stu and Jules was stunning and was made even more memorable by our bush walk and our encounter with lions. In summary, thank you very much for an Absolutely Wonderful Experience, unbelievable wildlife sightings, great photography opportunities and your company made this one of the very best trips we have enjoyed. We are already looking forward to our next trip with you. With our very best wishes, Mark and Angela.'
Mark and Angela, (UK), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, June 2015.

Hi Greg, I have really enjoyed your workshop.
Having done several photo safari's in East Africa en Botswana this was by far the best photo safari. It was outstanding!
Being in the midst of the predators actions was thrilling.
Your coaching during the game drives results in my best images I ever shoot. Your personality and knowledge of the African bush was amazing. It makes an unforgetable experience.
Thanks again.
Arthur Lim, (The Netherlands), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, April 2015.

'It was such a privilege to spend a week with Greg. On all levels he is a joy to spend time in the bush with. It’s really apparent through his passion, knowledge and talent why he was The Wildlife Photographer of the Year. We had some amazing sightings. From following mating leopards for 5 hours on my birthday to packs of wild dogs, cheetahs, and 19 different leopards. Oh, and two snakes! And of course, spending some time with Claire was very special to us. All the best, Deborah'
Deborah Keener Brown (USA), South Africa Pvt Predator Safari, Nov 2014

"Our party of three recently traveled to Masai Mara with Greg on a wildlife photography workshop.  While two of us have previously traveled to Africa on another photography workshop, it was the first trip to Africa for the third member of the team.  Our experience on this trip has far exceeded each of our expectations. The abundance and diversity of wildlife in Masai Mara was spectacular (ranging from some serious herds of wildebeest and zebras, prides of lions, cheetahs, leopards, elephants, giraffes and a rhino etc), providing numerous photographic opportunities. We also witnessed impressive crossings of wildebeest and zebras. Greg was great not only because of his wealth of knowledge in wildlife, he also gave invaluable advice as to how to best capture the amazing scenes happening in front of us from both a technical perspective and also a art/creative perspective.  He was generous to share with us his take on different subjects on location, and his award-winning technique and creativity. He also ensured that we were in the best location and have the best angle for each sighting, where we witnessed other vehicles being in the wrong place from a photographic standpoint.  He was very friendly and approachable and was fun to be with during our times with him. The camp selection and the guides at the camps were great (the guides had eagle-eyes to spot animals from a serious distance). All in all, it was a great trip and we hope to come back to Africa as soon as we can!" Kind Regards, Simon.
Simon Pang (Hong Kong), Masia Mara Migration Safari, September 2014

'On behalf of Kim and myself, I wanted to thank you for a superlative vacation. Although we have not finished going through all of our photos yet (so many!), we can say that any single day of our safari exceeded our expectations for the entire trip. We saw that much! And the credit is due to Greg and our local guides David and Patrick, who were kind enough to share their knowledge of the natural history of East Africa, as well as insights into the Maasai culture. Kim and I are both trained as anthropologists, so understanding the dynamic of the Maasai and their landscape was important to us. We were very excited to learn about how the conservancies work, as this sounds like an important innovation in conservation. We also greatly appreciated the opportunity to take a walking safari! In closing, the last thing we expected to see was a leopard somersaulting over a dead Caracal, but the attached photo proves me wrong. Thanks again!'
David and Kim Purcell (USA), Masai Mara Migration Safari, August 2014

'It was a great pleasure to discover that Greg is an outstanding naturalist and birder as well as
a world-class photographer. Birders and naturalists who lack an interest in photography would
certainly be interested in Greg's other skills. Greg played a very large role in assuring the success of our Safari in many ways.'
Bob and Sue Purcell (USA), Masai Mara Migration Safari, August 2014

'Good morning Greg. I trust you got home safely. Eric and I had an uneventful journey home. Surprisingly, Eric found his extender in his camera bag! Thanks for being such an incomparable guide and company. See you in February, if not before (maybe October).'
 Stephen and Eric Cheek (UK), Okavango Delta Private Safari, August 2014

'This was our first trip to Africa. We carefully researched options before choosing Greg’s Premier Predator Tour & it really paid off. We chose Greg because he:

•        is an expert wildlife photographer  - 2013 Wildlife Photographer of the Year
•        teaches AND leads the safari (most photographic safaris are EITHER workshops or tours)
•        has photographed wildlife all over Africa for over a decade
•        chooses locations that offer the most opportunity to see wildlife in a few days
•        limits group size to 3 photographers so each can have a dedicated row in the safari vehicle

Our safari exceeded our expectations! Greg's companionship, leadership & instruction was outstanding. It was clear that he engaged the best drivers in Bashi & Roan. They amazed us in their ability to find wildlife & the lengths to which they go to ensure we were in the right spot. We appreciated his "bush school" where he reiterated basic photography techniques. His reminders of the starting point settings while on location was also very helpful. We also had great fun photographing predators by spotlight & flash. He even taught us to photograph the night sky. Greg, I hope we can travel with you again in East Africa. Words can’t express how happy & excited we are with you, your team & our images!' 
Tom and Pam Holmes (USA) South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, June 2014

'I have traveled several times to Africa, but my recent trip with Greg to Mahale and the Serengeti has been a never-to-be-forgotten experience. Greg's photo workshop was amazing. I feel much more comfortable with my camera now. The greatest wisdom I carried away from Greg is this: I am the photographer not the camera, I can be in control and not depend on the  camera's interpretation of what I see. His tips and advice put me on the right direction to being in control! Beyond the camera, Greg's passion for the natural and his immense knowledge of the Serengeti from the predators to the birdlife and to the smallest flower in that never-ending expanse, gave me a privileged glimpse into the heart of Africa. Thank you Greg. See you on the predator tour!'
Punam Anand Kumar (India)
Serengeti Calving and Chimpanzee Safari, March 2014

'A journey for my soul. Wild as I always wanted it to be. Everlasting memory. Grazie Greg.'
Silvia Leonardi (Italy) Masai Mara/Amboseli, October 2013

'Hi Greg, At last we found time to send you a message! We're so busy editing photo's! Thank you very, very, very much for sharing these amazing two places with us! That was the best safari we did, EVER. And I'll never forget the baobab, still makes me cry when I think of it, sooooo beautiful! And of course thanks for all the foto lessons and your patience, explaining and setting my camera. Please let us know when your book is on the market, as said, we'll take about 5 copies! Bye for know, we'll be in touch, have fun on your next trip! Big hug, Astrid & Juerg.'
Astrid & Jürg Bluemel (Switzerland) South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, July 2013

'Greg, Thank you for making possible an unending number of opportunities for us to be part of African nature and wildlife experiences that have have changed our lives and touched our souls. We anxiously await our next adventure with you. With our sincere and heartfelt thanks, Clinton and Rae-Anne Jammer.' (email: info@clintjammerart.com)
Rae-Anne Jammer (Canada) South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, July 2013

'I had a hard time writing this review. After having spent almost two full weeks with Greg, he has become a friend. And as much as it sounds odd to say, I expected to grow as a photographer, but did not expect to grow as a person like I did as well. After two weeks on Safari, and staying in some of what I consider the most beautiful locations I have ever been, I am not the same person coming home. Greg was able to take my photography to the next level in more ways than I can express. My understanding of both camera mechanics as well as animal behavior, from start to finish, was incredibly improved. He is beyond knowledgeable in both and it made the game drives interesting, and exciting. Getting to a good sighting, and being able to ask what settings we needed, or what to look for, made the whole process seamless. There was little guessing, shots just started to look good. Then, after a day or two, they started to look very good. He was able to help me increase my portfolio, but also my ability to add to my portfolio in the future, which is just as important. The locations that he has chosen to have these workshops are incredible . . . both beautiful, but with opportunities for wildlife photography like I have never seen. We would have photo discussions in the afternoons between drives helping me prepare for the days ahead, and before I knew it . . . things just started to click (no pun intended). I was almost always in the right position! We are already planning future trips with Greg, and I can see this becoming an annual destination. Loved the Safari Joke book by the way! I can not recommend him enough!'
Chris Fischer (USA), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, June 2013
See images taken by Chris on this safari here...

'Hi Greg! I wanted to tell you that I had the most incredible time on our African safari. I have such a hard time explaining the experience to my friends, since no words ever seem to do it justice. It was far beyond terrific! I am in the process of writing a review for you, which I hope to have done sometime soon. I have the same problem with the review, as I do describing the trip: no words ever seem fantastic enough.'
Adrienne Waltman (USA), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, June 2013

'I just returned from my first trip to South Africa and Botswana with Greg Du Toit as our photography guide. I have been an amateur photographer for many decades but really with little training. Africa was on my bucket list and I went with my son and his fiancé. With Greg's guidance, my son rented both a 600mm and a 500mm lens to bring with us. This was an unbelievable experience. Not only did Greg put us into top notch accommodations, but his choice of game venues was perfect. In the vehicles, Greg sat in the front next to the driver to communicate with him on how to set up for the picture taking in all factors for a good shot. My son, in the early stages of developing into a top notch photographer, sat right behind Greg where they talked constantly about photo issues for the current shots. I sat in the seat behind my son. All shots where designed to be taken from the left side of the car. In all, a perfect set up for a photo Safari. We only have Greg, our driver and the three of us in the car. Huge issue for photographers is space so this was well handled! We came home with hundreds of unbelievable photos (out of the thousands we took!). Our personal picture reviews and critiques with Greg on a daily basis on our photos were very helpful for me, but for my son especially as he came back with a unbelievable growth in his photography career. Greg was great in this area of advice. If you are truly looking for top shots of African wildlife, be sure you now your venue. On almost all public reserves, you are required to stay on the main roads. In  the private reserves, not only are there a very limited number of people on the property, but we were allowed to drive off road to not only find the game, but to set up the best angle and lighting for the shots. From a photography perspective, the trip was a roaring success, but that was just the beginning. Greg was a phenomenal traveling companion. At 35, he was slightly older than my son and his fiancé. His humorous stories kept us rolling in the isles. His knowledge of all aspects of Africa life, from wildlife behavior to the bugs, the trees and shrubs, and of the African culture was really a special treat. His choice of guides/trackers at the game reserves gave us the best shot at a top notch experience, and we got it. If you are thinking of booking with him, ask him about the Dung Beetle he caught one night at dinner.....it was hilarious. Or ask him what he said to his wife in the most loving way about her eyelashes during the wedding ceremony. Those stories have already been told many, many times. We didn't have any knowledge of Greg before this trip, and were nervous since we were booking from such a long distance. Boy, did we get lucky. Can't imagine a better trip. I couldn't recommend him more highly. My wife and I are already planning a return trip in 2015. If you would like to get a more personal perspective on our trip, I'd be glad to communicate with you. My email address is Tonk@FHAPC.com. You'll be hard pressed to find a better person to lead your African Photo Safari!'
Tonk Fischer (USA), South Africa and Botswana Predator Workshop, June 2013

'Hi Greg, I have finally returned home after having been away for approx 6 weeks! Great to hear from you, I hope your Christmas break was great? It feels like a life time ago that we were in Ethiopia, time flies! I really loved that trip, it was an incredible experience, I miss being there. It was exciting discovering and learning something new almost daily. It felt like we traveled way back in time! Here's to a fabulous 2013, thanks again for introducing both Chels and I the the wonderful eye-opening world of photography and far off untamed, exotic African destinations! Stay in touch. Karen'
Karen Barrow, Ethiopia Endemic Wildlife and Cultural photo safari, Dec 2012

'Hi Greg. Just a short review of the Mala Mala – Mashatu trip we experienced with you:
 The accommodation, level of service and game viewing at both reserves was superb – Mala Mala ranks as the top reserve I have visited to date (and I have been to many!). The photographic opportunities far exceeded my expectations, both in diversity and frequency.
Then there is the photographic tuition: In one word - wow!
This, for me, was undoubtedly the highlight of the trip. Greg, in my opinion, is one of the top five wild life photographers in South Africa. His selfless (most pro’s religiously guard their secrets) sharing of know-how and techniques was fantastic. I learnt more about flash in the few days I spent with him, than the last 5 years put together. To my mind, he is one of the top exponents of this technique – his images attest to that. What I enjoyed, in particular, was Greg softly whispering his settings (and explaining why, where needed) when we were shooting - nothing beats hands on tutoring in my book! His knowledge of image processing was also outstanding. Again, he was willing to share his methodology and workflow – this was done in a very practical and simple manner. Last, but no least, there is Greg the person and nature lover. Photography is the vehicle he uses (very passionately) to be “out there” 24-7. He has a profound connection with nature and this is probably why his photography is so admired. Greg is an expert on all aspects of nature – from the smallest insect or plant to the habits of the largest predators. The cherry on top is that he is just a nice guy and fun to be with!
I hope to join you again on another mind blowing wildlife trip Greg!'
Tim Chadwick (Cape Town), Southern Africa Predator Workshop (details here), July 2012
See one of Tim's images from the trip here...

'Hey Greg. I wanted to thank you again for your good nature, patience and willingness to share your expertise and enthusiasm for your work. Jan and I had a fantastic time on our first visit to Africa!'
Tom Archibold (USA), National Geographic Expedition (Southern Africa by Private Air), August 2012

'Dear Greg. Many thanks for a really fabulous week. It was a great pleasure travelling with you.
We both enjoyed your company very much and were really impressed by your openness and modesty.
We learnt a huge amount and took far better images than ever before!
With warm regards, Ralph'
Ralph Auchincloss (UK), Oryx Southern Africa Photo Safari, July 2012

'As the wife of one of the budding photographers, I must say , I was slightly apprehensive at the thought of spending 10 days with strangers in the middle of the bush. My objective was to savour Nature and enjoy some peace. What a wonderful revelation it was then, not only to witness the most amazing animal encounters, but to find peace as well as undiluted fun with like- minded people. Greg is a walking, smiling encyclopaedia. His knowledge, attitude toward and understanding of the bush, both flora and fauna- and- more importantly to some, photographic technics, were astonishing and his willingness to share his knowledge, most humbling. I cannot wait to discover more of the beauty of our wildlife with Greg.
Thank you Greg, for truly, the most awesome experience!'
Jean Gloyne, Southern Africa Predator Workshop (details here), July 2012 '

'Hi Greg, Had so much to do once I got back from the workshop that only now am I finding a gap to write and thank you.
Thank you for the once in a lifetime opportunity of being able to photograph a Big Tusker from ground level, that for me was an exceptional and special moment, one I will never forget! (Thank goodness I had a card in my camera!!!) Greg, I am so grateful for the opportunity of spending time learning from you as well as for the truly wonderful stories you have to share. I wish you all the very best for your future photographic projects and am looking forward to the next workshop with you, hopefully next year for the migration, very much a lifelong dream and number one on my bucket list!
Take care and hope to see you soon,
Caro'
African Photography Workshop, Tembe Game Reserve (South Africa), June 2012

'Our host and photographic expert Greg du Toit’s tuition each day was exactly what I was looking for and I certainly learnt a lot from the trip. I would recommend the experience to both novice and skilled photographers.'
Stuart Michelmore, Nikon African Photography Workshop, Timbavati Game Reserve (South Africa), May 2012

'Hi Greg. Trust you had a hassle-free journey home.
We had a fantastic safari with you and I truly meant it when I said the experience was beyond expectation. Having the “standard “ game drive ruined forever, I look forward to crawling in the dust with you again in the not too distant future.'
Derek Whalley, Nikon African Photography Workshop, Timbavati Game Reserve (South Africa), May 2012

'Hi Greg. Thanks a million for a wonderful experience.
The photo opportunities were fantastic and the group even better.
We will remember you all forever!
Lots of love, Neil &Tessa Lane'
African Photography Workshop, Amakhosi (Zululand, South Africa), May 2012

'Dear Greg. Thank  you again for an amazing photo workshop. You and Anita showed me to see the bush a little different. As I still enjoy my "Big Lens", I will use my other lenses more frequently from now on.
I am very happy with the results from this workshop and will use the techniques you taught me more and more. Thanks again. Ben'
African Photography Workshop, Amakhosi (Zululand, South Africa), May 2012

'Greg is an excellent instructor, both with beginners and experienced photographers.  I would recommend him anytime!' Basil
Nikon African Photography Workshop, Timbavati Game Reserve (South Africa), April 2012

'Hey Greg, just wanted to say thank you for a great workshop. I really learnt a lot and it will definitely help me with all my future photographic attempts. Chat soon, Ryan'
Nikon African Photography Workshop, Timbavati Game Reserve (South Africa), April 2012

'Thank you Greg for the wonderful experience, it was a great trip, we enjoyed the experience very much. I really appreciate you helping me with my settings in the challenging forest so that I could bring home memories of the baby Chimp! I enjoyed so much and will never forget stormy Christmas (the chimp), charging us! Best Regards, Anne.'
Anne and Didier Lequire, France
African Photographic Safari, Selous and Mahale (Tanzania), Jan 2012

'Hi Greg, COUNT US IN for your next trip !!!!!!! As you know, Chels and I loved our recent trip to Tanzania with a very special group of people. We felt so privileged to be a part of it. It's very difficult to put into words what it was like when people ask us. Something we'll always treasure. Thanks again Greg. Kind regards, Karen Barrow.'
Karen and Chelsea Barrow, South Africa
African Photographic Safari, Selous and Mahale (Tanzania), Jan 2012

'Thank you for a life changing experience.' Brandon
African Photography Workshop, Thornybush South Africa, Dec 2011

'Hi Greg! Thank you so much! I wish there were words to tell you how grateful I am for a trip that was beyond my expectations. I miss our talks. Your friendship was a surprising plus and I know I will never forget everything you taught me. Thank you so much. God Bless you also! Linda.' Linda Morrison, USA
Kenya Migration Wildlife Safari, Nov 2011


'The trip was awesome - the whole family really really loved it! As for Greg himself, he was a total hit! He is on another level and we are so very happy he could join us, and I doubt that it will be the last time either. He certainly helped me out a lot, and also had incredible patience with my mum & sister who were beginner photographers.' Nima Sarikhani, London.
Kenya Migration and Rwanda Gorilla Photo Safari, Oct 2011

'Thanks again for a great couple of days in Mashatu. I enjoyed your crazy stories, your enthusiasm and even more your warm personality. Till next time, maybe in the Mara or in the Selous!!'
Willy Shoots, Holland
African Photography Workshop, Tuli Block Botswana, August 2011

'If you are serious about your photography and want to get better, Greg can help you in many ways. He is willing and able to explain what he is doing and why he is doing it. He emphasizes on the process from initial concept and vision to execution in the field. Greg pushes the limits of DSLR technology to create unique, strong images. I found him via his images on his web site. His techniques are to get an image correct in the camera with high level technical skills and his eye for creativity. All in all this was the best photo safari I have attended. I saw an immediate improvement in my shooting techniques that translated to improved images both compositionally and technically. My only caution to potential participants is that having taken one photo safari with Greg, you will likely sign up for another. I felt it was a privilege learning from and shooting with Greg. I give a hearty recommendation to anyone considering a photo safari with Greg.' Carl Zanoni, Connecticut USA
African Predator Photo Safari, Mala Mala, July/August 2011



'Hi Greg, It has taken me this long, (two weeks) to get back down to earth and be back in the ‘real’ world again!! The workshop experience was truly unforgettable, thank you. Every moment out there continues to humble and inspire me and to try and capture these moments, a challenge indeed. Your work truly does capture the very essence and mood of Africa and I am so grateful that I was able to be part of this workshop that was my first, and learn so much from you. Not only did you share photographic techniques that I could understand, but also your in-depth knowledge of the African bush which is more than just the animals that roam.
I also liked the technique you used to attract lions!!! Greg, thank you.' Caro
African Photography Workshop, Tembe Elephant Park South Africa, June 2011

'Hi Greg, I thank you for all the wonderful advice and encouragement that you gave to me over the trip! It was incredibly interesting to learn just how you obtained those wonderful shots of lions in Kenya! No kidding you deserve all the accolades! If I can just get to half that level I will be delighted. Once again, thank you. Kind regards.' Terri Carlson
African Photography Workshop, Tembe Elephant Park South Africa, June 2011

'Dear Greg. A very big thank you for the most amazing weekend. I have returned home having benefited not only photographically but also from your vast knowledge of the bush. Your humble approach and desire to share what ever knowledge you have, made this experience even more enjoyable. This course is a must for any photography enthusiast. Looking forward to sharing another wonderful experience with you. Thanking you once again. Best regards. Lawrence Gobetz.'
African Photography Workshop, Nikon Travel Africa, May 2011

'Thank you most sincerely for the most wonderful few days we shared with you. Not only are you an extremely accomplished, exciting and inspiring wildlife photographer but your knowledge and enthusiasm of the bush and the environment was awe inspiring to say the very least.  Your holistic knowledge of all the smaller things: the trees, insects, birds and their calls etc. is what makes the whole experience come alive and meaningful… certainly for me.  In my view, you are not just a fantastic photographer but someone who encompasses every aspect of the bush and the surroundings and in doing so, made the whole experience so much richer in every way. On a different note I have chosen the two photographs that I would like to buy from you on paper please and as big as possible which I think is AO.  They are “PELICANS IN THE MIST” AND “PELICAN IMPRESSIONS”.'
Jane Bedford, Phinda African Photographic Safari, April 2011



“Just wanted to say thank you very much for a trip of a lifetime. You provided a pivotal role of photographic host, teaching my sisters and myself photographic skills in a practical manner whilst out in the field. Having the ability to ‘pick ones brain’ in any given situation was simply fantastic. As my sisters and I were at different levels of photographic experience, you provided invaluable teaching in answering all of our questions.  Furthermore, your easy-going manner and meal-time discussion conversations were a highlight of our trip and have left us with many treasured memories. With your help, our chances of capturing the ‘perfect wall shot’ dramatically improved and for that, I will always be in your debt. Thank you for being so generous with your time and your humble approach to photography."
Sue Hawken, Julie Hawken, Robyn Thomas, Serengeti Calving Wildlife Safari, March 2011

'I found the workshop extremely beneficial. Greg is a wonderful teacher. He is patient and just so full of knowledge. I wish I could just download his brain! His 'lectures' were really easy to follow and I really like the way he simplifies concepts instead of showing off with fancy, technical irrelevant information that I have found with other photography experts. I think we all found the feedback he gave on our own work the most valuable exercise of all. Ultimately it was a brilliant few days. I think very highly of Greg, Jane and Friedi. I learnt a lot from everyone on the course and would highly recommend the experience to anyone interested in wildlife or even just photography in general. I hope to do Greg's Maasai Mara course soon! Best regards. Camilla.'
Camilla Howard, Phinda African Wildlife Safari, April 2011




'The photographic tuition was without a doubt, the best I’ve ever had. Greg's simple approach backed by his irrefutable credentials  was exceptionally motivational and his format is very effective. The reviews being done on images straight out of the camera in an anonymous format takes away the angst of waiting for your processed contribution to be ‘judged’. As a result his assessments are listened to and absorbed. This coupled with the day’s “photo school” lesson makes for very effective learning.  I think Willie said it best when he said that he would not want to learn how to play golf from anyone but a scratch handicap golfer.'
Jane Ferraris, Zululand Africa Photographic Workshop, April 2011

'Hi Greg. Many thanks for a wonderful workshop. The presentation was calm and clear and very informative. There is so much to remember so I am glad I have written things down to review! It is so evident that you love what you do...how wonderful that your passion and work coincide and culminate in such perfection! Your photos are mind blowing....so full of mood and message. I hope someday to capture a fraction of what you do? I really hope to go to Masai Mara with you ...I wouldn't want to do it with anyone else!! Many thanks again.'
Kim Stevens, Zululand Africa Photography Workshop, April 2011



'Greg, both from a photographic and wildlife perspective was really outstanding and I learnt a great deal from him.'
Clive Godfrey, Nikon Travel African Photographic Safari, Sabi Sand Game Reserve, April 2011

'Hi Greg! I just wanted to say thank you so much for such an amazing weekend, I cannot even begin to tell you how much it meant to me, as a amateur photographer and bush lover! We saw such incredible game, were surrounded by lovely people and always felt welcome. But what made the trip for me, was your enthusiasm and willingness to teach us about wildlife photography and the bush itself! Unlike most professional photographers you showed a sincere interest in our photos and what we had to say! I have learnt so much from you this weekend and have been truly inspired to take my photography further, especially my wildlife. I am so excited to go to the okavango in two weeks to practice everything I learned, it is such a treat! Thank you once again. Cally'
Caroline Mackintosh, Nikon Travel African Photography Workshop, Sabi Sand Game Reserve, April 2011



'The trip was in one word – AMAZING! Action from the start !!! This trip was worth every penny (or dollar) I spent! I would give it a 12 out of 10 rating for meeting my expectations. Greg was a superb host and with his help I personally sorted out quite a lot of technical issues around my photography. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to get to a wilderness area and really see Africa.
Photos will follow soon!! All the best.'
Christine Lamberth, C4 Serengeti Calving Wildlife Safari, Feb/March 2011

'Hi Greg, I really just wanted to say a big “thank you” for the most amazing Wildlife Photography experience I have ever had. I feel really privileged to have learnt from the ‘master’ and I know your practical tips and sound teaching skills will stand me in good stead as an amateur. You have an amazing gift…and that is your personality and passion for the bush. Photography is a product of this trait and I have no doubt that you will be successful as a photographer, naturalist, coach and conservationist. Thank you again for your humble yet inspiring approach to wildlife photography!'
Derek King, Private African Wildlife Safari, Thornybush South Africa, Dec 2010

'Greg, thanks so much for your fantastic guidance on our recent trip with you!  It was such a treat to be in one of Africa's finest wilderness areas with the added bonus of your bush knowledge and photographic expertise. You are an excellent teacher, and what I learned from you is invaluable - I now feel like I really know what am I doing with my digital SLR in the bush, and the quality of my photos has increased dramatically!  To top it all, you are an easy-going, down-to-earth travel companion, and I sincerely hope I get a chance to participate in more of your tours in the future.'
Mike 't Sas-Rolfes, Africa Geographic Selous Africa Photographic Workshop, November 2010



'Dear Greg. I cannot thank you enough for your wonderful attention to us, your deep love of the African Bush, your marvelous talent with a camera and for making my second trip to Africa even more meaningful than my first.  If and when your name shows up on a future Bushtracks trip, I hope I can sign on!!!!'
Wanda Alary, Bushtracks Southern Tanzania Expedition, Oct 2010

"Dear Greg, Just wanted to say thank you for your patience, guidance and expertise on our safari in Kenya. When you came into our vehicle for the very first time at Lake Nakuru and taught us how to use the light, it was a turning point for me and my photography. You see things so uniquely from everyone else and that is a true gift. I learnt so much from you! This trip will remain on the top of my list of best trips taken ever and I will keep coming back to Africa again and again. Hope to do another trip with you someday! Best wishes and keep in touch!"
Denise, Perth Australia,
C4 Kenya Safari, Samburu/Nakuru/Masai Mara, Sep 2010


"Hello Greg! I am currently culling the thousands of wonderful images Gayle and I took during our September safari in Kenya, which has reminded me to thank you most sincerely for contributing so much to our first visit to Africa. What a wonder-filled experience it has been! Your empathic involvement with African wildlife and ability to share your passion for the animals and photography is contagious, with even 'Gayle The Non-Photographer' burning through batteries and cards like a pro! I do hope you will come to Perth one day and perhaps go North to the Pilbara and Kimberley areas of Western Australia. If so, we offer you a roof over your head while in Perth, as a small token of our gratitude for your kind contribution to our memorable FIRST visit to Africa. I have little doubt that we will return!"
Peter RandellC4 Kenya Safari, Samburu/Nakuru/Masai Mara, Sep 2010



"On behalf of all members of the Australian Photo Safari Group, this email is to more formally thank you for your very significant contribution to our trip to Kenya in September 2010. The richness of wildlife photography, the warm welcome provided by you, your technical input and guidance, ensured all members of our group returned home with some memorable images and warm memories of their first trip to Africa. The workshops you conducted were particularly valued by all and contributed to the rapid increase in camera skills that became evident as the safari progressed. I would have no hesitation in using you to lead future photo safaris.”Denis Glennon, C4 Kenya Safari, Samburu/Nakuru/Masai Mara, Sep 2010 

“Glenn & I had the most wonderful experience on our Photographic Safari and School. The Serengeti was particularly stunning and photogenic. I learned an enormous amount both about wildlife photography and animal behaviour. Greg, thank you for the way you helped us to better understand both. I am looking forward to the next opportunity to go on safari with you.” Ken & Glenn Moss, Epic Photo School, Serengeti/Ruaha, August 2010


'First I want to thank you for what was just an incredible experience.  It is clearly one of the best trips I have ever taken and one of the  highlights of my life so far.  Everything from the camps, to the people were amazing. Greg is just remarkable. Not only is he an incredible photographer,  but he is an amazing teacher and person. I sincerely loved the time with him, getting to know him as a person and learning from him.  I learned more about photography than I had in the past 20 years. He is very humble and has an incredible teaching style that makes things at all levels easy to understand. Photographers at all levels would benefit from spending time with him. I could go on and on about Greg.  Most importantly I look forward to staying in touch with him and hosting him here in the US some day (he has promised to come shoot some sports with me one day).  I definitely plan to travel with him again.'
Bob Youngentob, Epic Photo School, Serengeti/Ruaha, August 2010

"I had a wonderful trip and Greg taught me huge amounts about Wildlife photography. The Serengeti experience was unforgettable.
Greg is very knowledgeable and an excellent teacher. Looking forward to my next trip and will only consider one organised by Greg."
Stephen Cheek, Epic Photo School, Serengeti/Ruaha, August 2010



"Classic Serengeti" - what an Understatemen
Home Join me on Safari New & Favourite Images Photography Books Purchase Prints Mini Documentary Follow Me Contact Me Site Map Blog

©Copyright. Greg du Toit Safaris & Photographic. 2013